Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
1,972 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been searching some on offa.org and have noticed that some top breeders, several of which were recommended here, don't seem to have uniform testing. One dog will have hips and cerf, another will have hips and SA, while yet another will have hips, elbows, thyroid, SA and cerf. Is it possible that some are listed and other aren't? I know it's the breeder's discretion whether the results are listed online or not, but why have just part of the tests listed?

So far the tests listed are:

Hips
Elbow
Patella
Sebaceous Adenitis
DEGENERATIVE MYELOPATHY
NEONATAL ENCEPHALOPATHY
Cardiac
Cerf
Thyroid
Von Willibrands

Do standard poodles need all of these? How often should they be done? I'm especially interested in how often Cerf should be done and how it's reported. For example one sire that I really like says "Tested:06" What does that mean?

·
Registered
2,314 Posts
Hmm, I'm no expert on Standard Poodle testing. But I know patellas are an issue in the minis/ toys, not standards.

As for CERF. It's recommended to do breeding dogs yearly. However, it is possible to pass the test without actually registering the result I believe. The breeder I am most likely going with CERF'd her girl but hasn't submitted it to a registry. So as long as she provides me with the official document proving she passed, I'm good.

As for full listing - you have to remember that most good breeders use outside studs. So they might only have control over the testing of their breedings. They should be using studs with testing, but it's possible some dogs back in the pedigree weren't fully tested OR the results weren't registered with OFA. Hopefully now that there's an easily accessible OFA registry, more breeders will register all results with the OFA.