Poodle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I usually give my son and husband their hair cuts (buzz cuts). Other than that I have no experience with the art of grooming. Will I be able to groom a spoo? Is there anyone or anywhere I can go to see what it would take to learn grooming? I think out of all of the aspects of owning a spoo this is the most intimidating for me.

My dogs in the past of HATED getting brushed and I would love to just be able to sit and brush my (future) dog. If I start brushing my spoo right away will it enjoy grooming or is there a trick to it?

Also, is there a groomer that anyone could recommend in the Calgary Area (NW, NE, Balzac, Airdrie)?

Thanks for all the help

·
Super Moderator
2,956 Posts
You can do it (if you WANT it bad enough)! :lol: Before I got Lucybug, I had never held a clipper in my hand. All my other dogs are short coated breeds and need nothing more than a few drip-dry baths a year.

My daughter worked at the PetSmart grooming salon as a dog bather and she's the one who brought spoos into our lives. Because she had some experience with watching the groomers actually do the clipping/scissoring/etc., and she had hands-on knowledge of the bathing part - she was excited to have a spoo of her own to practice on. She's the one who gave me the confidence I needed to do what I do with Lucy. Now *I'm* much more commited to it that she is and I often clip her spoo for her too!

Since bringing Lucy home in October of 2009, I've only paid a professional groomer one time and that's when she was put into her continental clip. Other than that one visit back in February, I've kept her face, feet, tail and fanny clipped on a regular basis. I know that if I ever do anything wrong (as long as it doesn't involve actually nicking or cutting her) it's just hair and it WILL grow back! :)