Poodle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I have been grooming my spoo for about 2 years now and ran into a snag (no pun intended) this weekend. I decided to start clipping after a bath and found it was nearly impossible to get through his coat while it was damp. In fact, it almost seemed like my 5FC blade might be twisting his damp hair. I tried again after his coat was dry later that day, and again this morning, but still couldn't get a smooth trim.

Could I have dulled the blade by using it while his fur was wet? Has anyone experienced anything similar before? We bought the blade 9 months ago and have only used it ~8 times so I'm very perplexed. Our two year old 10 blade (with and without a #5 comb attachment) still works fine.

·
Registered
7,311 Posts
I would never clip a damp dog. I don’t think electrical tools not rated and developed for use in wet situations are safe around water.

I’m guessing that the damp fur clumped up and made it difficult for the blades to work. I would have guessed they would be fine on a dry coat but you’re still having problems, so maybe the stress of clumps of hair did damage the blade.

Reactions: EVpoodle

·
Registered
365 Posts
I wonder if the blade was pulled out of alignment when you tried to clip damp.
At work we clip fur that is wet, dirty, matted, and worse but only with a 10 or 40, so the blade goes under the fur more than through it. Even so, while I would say that it dulls the blade more quickly than clean dry fur, it doesn't have such a drastic effect that you are seeing.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for your feedback, Skylar and Starvt! I read some guides that okayed damp clipping, but I won't be trying it again!