Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I'm a complete novice with this breeding thing and how it works, so pardon my ignorance.

Is it normal for a breeder to breed two dogs of completely different colours? Does it affect the quality of the colours, or the dogs? A breeder I had a really great conversation with is breeding a cinnamon and a blue together. Is that standard?

·
Registered
2,053 Posts
This is not and ignorant question I too am confused . After being on this forum and hearing all the differing ideas and opinions on dog breeding for color, I am quite interested in hearing the answer :) Thanks for asking it ...
I know that I would not do it..... But then I think I am a bit of a purest :)

·
Registered
2,053 Posts
I would assume that scoots means an apricot right ? Or a poorly colored red?

·
Registered
1,972 Posts
It's pretty complicated, lol. I don't think you'd want to see a breeder using only one color. Occaisionally, you'd think they breed out to something different. You see a lot of whites and reds being bred together (white to white and red to red, not red to white), but I think the good breeders occasionally breed out to different colors. There are certain colors you wouldn't want to breed together too. I know there was a recent discussion about breeding reds to chocolate; it's a no no.

I think you mean Apricot or Red and I would be leary if the breeder is using "cinnamon." Colors can be confusing, I'm still not 100% on what a blue is, but if they're breeding they should know the terms.

Health, temperment and conformation should come before color.

·
Registered
2,686 Posts
I would say that most good breeders try when possible to breed clear, deep colors especially if you are talking Reds and Apricots. Generally, you don't want to breed a Red or an Apricot to a Blue because Blue by definition is a fading color. This type of breeding will lighten your Red or Apricot which is not desirable.