Poodle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I am new to adopting a pup from a breeder, and I hope someone here can answer my question: Is it OK for a breeder to use a sire that is 18 months old? I've seen guidance that both genders should be at least 2 years old so they can mature and hips can be tested, etc. I'm pretty confident this breeder is caring for her dogs and its not an abuse situation--but it's not clear to me how problematic it could be that the sire is under 2. What are possible effects? We have a 6 year old boy who is so eager for a dog and would be crushed if serious health problems popped up. Also, I just want some reassurance that a responsible/ethical breeder could breed a healthy, 18 month old male who has passed the other genetic tests.

Thank you! I have learned so much on this site!

·
Super Moderator
5,310 Posts
I'm so glad you're asking this important question, and I'll be checking back to see the responses.

I know Peggy's sire was WAY too young. I got to meet him and spend time with him and yet I didn't even think to ask his age. Sigh. It wasn't until I saw some of his old puppy photos, months later on social media, that I did the math. Good for you for doing your homework.

·
Super Moderator
1,515 Posts
From your perspective, there are two big reasons to be concerned:
1) Assume a puppy's hips will rarely be better than the parent's and might be worse. Eighteen months old dogs can't get hip certifications. Maybe the sire will mature with decent hips, maybe not. You won't know.
2) Some other diseases with a genetic component don't manifest until the dog is older.

·
Registered
1,578 Posts