Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a bit confused here. Ok I have a long history with dogs use to breed and work german import Shepherds years ago. I am a pro groomer also.

What is allowable for a poodle breeder? To me some of what I am reading screams puppy mills coming from breeding GSDs. What I am refering to is a breeder have more then one litter a year. With many what you all refer to as top breeders many are breeding more then one color and having over 3 litters a year. Some are also breeding more than one size. Now to me this is puppy mill breeding. Way to many dogs being bred and handle by one breeder. But with poodle it seems normal.

Now I am not saying that the same female is being bred again in same year but still.. If one is breeding more than one color and one size how can one keep up. I know from breeding my dogs what one litter took as care. Some I did not let go of till later even to make sure they had the right home. I could not see having three or more litter in one year.

Am I wrong here is there something I am missing? Please explain poodle breeding tatics.

·
Registered
2,686 Posts
I used to have German bred GSD out of SchH titled parents and that breeder had multiple litters a year. She had a whole kennel set up.

I don't think it is wrong to breed multiple bitches. I even think you can breed a bitch more than once a year (my foundation bitch cycled every 20 weeks like clock work).

I don't think it is wrong to have different varieties. Poodles are one breed with three different varieties. It is very common for someone to have Standards and Minis or Standards and a Toy. Sometimes I think, the Standard breeders/showers just want to play at showing a poodle that doesn't take so long to groom!