Poodle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Super Moderator
5,266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think I'm ready to try this. I've never done it before, so Peggy and I are both total novices.

Can anyone recommend a good beginner guide? I like books best, but YouTube channels are okay, too.

And is it okay if I do it for a few weeks before getting my husband involved? This might be a really silly question, but can you work in sessions or do you have to keep the clicker on you at all times for consistency?

I think this will be an excellent bridge across Peggy's and my communication gap.

Thanks!
Robin

·
Premium Member
23,210 Posts
I would recommend any of Karen Pryor's book on clicker training. The key things are to remember that the clicker serves as a bridge to the reward for the correct response to an order. The clicker is not the reward but serves to tell the dog a reward is coming. When I tried clicker training with Lily pupchick I found my timing with the clicker was terrible so I didn't stick with it. I instead have found my marker timing is better with words. I use yes like a clicker and always release the dog on a yes and feed to reward. Good means that is nice but let's keep working instead of cookies and no means what it pretty much always means.

I would work in sessions and get to where you see how you like it before including DH. Don't fall into the trap of clicking for no good reason. I have a friend who is an R+ only trainer. Everything she teaches her dogs is through shaping. She makes me crazy with clicking over and over for any tiny approximation of something because several people who come to the novice class she comes to don't use clickers and their dogs find them really distracting.

Have fun testing it out.

·
Registered
1,907 Posts
I think it's fine to do it yourself for a few weeks before getting your husband involved. I'm not sure if you should do it in sessions or keep the clicker on you.

·
Registered
1,049 Posts