Poodle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,
I have a mini poodle who desperately needs grooming. Because of COVID-19, all of the grooming salons are closed. I thought they were going to reopen, but not yet. I want to do a cursory grooming to tie him over until they open up. I thought I would clip only his body and legs and neaten up his face, top not, and tail No clean muzzle, feet, shaft of tail or groin. I am too afraid I will hurt him because I have no experience. I would also like to get a dremel tool for his nails. What tools do you recommend? His fur is crazy thick now since his last grooming was in February! Also, is it OK to cut him dry?
Thanks!

·
Registered
7,086 Posts
You want to cut him when he’s dry After brushing use a metal butter/greyhound comb to comb down to his skin to make sure there aren’t any hidden mats Before trimming him.

Are you planning to use scissors or do you want to get a trimmer like Wahl Bravura? I feel the trimmers are safer around the face than scissors. And consider doing a sanitary groom too.

·
Registered
2,265 Posts
Hi,

Skylar's right, best to do the clipping when dry and fully combed out, after a bath. Clean fur is kinder to clippers. As you can imagine, there've been a few threads in the last month or so on this. It's always best to go for the best tools you can afford. The right tools make the task easier and you might find that you'll use them more than you might think, to extend the time between professional grooms. A lot of us did our first full grooming ever in the last 6 weeks :).

If you're going the clipper route for body and legs you'll probably want a regular size clipper/trimmer. There are cordless and corded types which are discussed in the linked threads.
A good pair of curved scissors are a big help for shaping the top knot.
Small round tip scissors are handy for little tidying work where I'm especially concerned about sharp points.