Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
440 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
<<Back to Old Fashion Hair Cut... Scissoring>>

Our fist poodle of the family (now almost 13 years old, she's such a sweet old lady) was hardly ever clipped using electric clippers- instead we usually cut her fur with scissors (very uneven though I'm sure).
I've been cutting my poodle, Ocsi for the past 4 years using mostly electric clippers... but with all the talk about "the art of scissoring" I figured I'd give my hand another try at it! ;)

Ocsi wasn't too happy about me taking these pictures, it was very windy on the rooftop, but hopefully between the wind, his black fur and my point and shoot camera all of you wonderful experienced groomers can give me some tips on areas I can improve my eye. I have the idea of how the cut should look (target was the "lamb cut" -I believe is the name).

I'll try not to be defensive and really look forward to your suggestions for improvements!!:pop2:

Attachments

·
Registered
2,496 Posts
He's cute!!!! Really the best thing you can do is have the coat bathed & dried straight to get an even finish, curls are nigh impossible to scissor smooth & even!!! But it does look like a cute trim on him! :)

·
Registered
440 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks flyingduster- I used my "people" dryer on him- hence the curls :/
working on selecting a nice dryer, just can't make up my mind; there are 3 that I think I've settled on, and it would be great to have a big one (the stand kind) but I honestly don't have room for it in my 1 bedroom apt :(

·
Registered
2,496 Posts