Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
616 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am up and bored and very excited about my new guy coming to live with us!! I need some helpful advice from some vets!!

·
Registered
912 Posts
Not sure if we have any vets on our forum yet. I am an ex vet nurse so feel free to ask away and I will see if I can help?

·
Registered
616 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Not sure if we have any vets on our forum yet. I am an ex vet nurse so feel free to ask away and I will see if I can help?
OOPS!!! LOL I meant veteran poodle owners!!! I should have specified that since this is a dog forum!! hahahaha sorry for the confusion!

·
Registered
3,398 Posts
I got my Ginger when she was 6 weeks old - a little young - she had fear issues right away and its been hard to break her of it. We had to hire a trainer to come to the house. He really helped though -She was about 6 months when he came and he really made her into the dog I wanted. She still is a little fearful with new people and heaven forbid anyone sits near her (dog or human) when she's sleeping - she jumps up wiht a growl ready to defend her life - but settles immediately when she sees no threat. She has been a treat for me. I love her personality - she talks to me and when she lays down she makes this loun belly sigh - its so cute! I have a a few dogs in my time but this dog has stolen my heart totally! Just love her!

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
I have owned and previously showed Amstaffs (akc version of the Pitbull) and a Poodle was a big change for me. I still own one Pitbull and a Rat Terrier but Eli is one great dog.

We have two young boys (3ys and 1yr) and OMG are Poodles great with kids. That was the biggest concern for me about getting another breed. Honeslty, no matter what people say Pitbulls are great with children and are great family dogs. Thats what I wanted with a Poodle and Eli is over and above what I expected.