• No

Votes: 22 51.2%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
1,042 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this is very personal to some people but I just have to ask.
I have been noticing lately that lots of my dog owning friends have Anxiety disorders, like panic attacks and so on.

I also talked to my psychiatrist and she said that she saw a link between dog ownership and people with anxiety disorders.
Not that the dogs where causing the Anxiety but people who suffered from it where more likely to get a dog.

So who would like to stick there hand up in the air and say they suffer from it and also have a dog :D

I will go first..

I have had anxiety disorder since 2007 I am ok at the moment but it goes up and down. My dogs are a big help :)

Well you don't really have to post a answer if you don't want to ;) just wanted to raise awareness on the subject.
If anyone is suffering in silent and would like any help feel free to contact me.
I am not a doctor but I know lots of ways to cope.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Me me me me me me!

I suffered firstly from anxiety after an incredibly rough year in 06, leading up to my wedding. The clincher was a head injury that left me with nervous system issues. I won't bother going into details, but at that stage I was heavily medicated on a few different pills.

Since then I've come of medication completely, partially thanks to my lifestyle. At 23, I've been married 3 years, we own our own home, and we can afford for me to be a stay at home mum without too much concern. This has given me a sense of control and stability that has helped 10 fold.