Poodle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The reason we got our fist poodle was because I am allergic to dogs (and cats and dust, and ....). My allergies were much less severe (although not 100% gone) with my first poodle as compared to other dogs. We have a new Miniature Poodle puppy - he is about 11 weeks old and we have had him for two weeks. I am having allergies :afraid: especially during his bath time. I am hoping they get better once he goes through his coat change. Does anyone have any experience with allergies to a puppy as compared to an adult poodle?

Thanks in advance and Happy Holidays!

·
Premium Member
22,992 Posts
Well I am sure this is very upsetting to be going through. I have no real experience here, but do wish for a good outcome. Perhaps someone else needs to do bathing. Also I hate to say this part, but understand that allergic status can change at any time in life for the better, but also for the worse.

·
Registered
8,202 Posts
I also had very bad allergies and asthma around most dogs, which I developed as a young adult. When I got Maizie, I was allergic to her slightly for the first three weeks. I took antihistamines and the allergy went away--whew! When I got Frosty as a puppy, I had absolutely no reaction. After taking my dogs to the dog park and petting TONS of dogs, as well as attending dog classes and shows, my dog allergies have improved drastically. Like you, I find grooming to bring out my allergies, especially when I'm trimming my Maltese's coat. If you can have someone else bathe your pup, I would definitely do that. Also, in my experience, puppies cause more allergies than adults in all breeds.

·
Registered
7,158 Posts