Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What do you guys feed your pups that’s affordable but still good quality? I’ve been told that the PC dog food is good? Nutro? Kirkland Nature’s Domain? Any other suggestions? I don’t think I will be able to afford Acana on ODSP, I don’t get my pup until Nov/Dec and am doing my research but want to provide the best that I can.

·
Registered
8,202 Posts
I've heard the Kirkland is good. I am a fan of Purina Pro Plan. They make tons of formulas including for puppies. https://www.chewy.com/s?query=purina pro plan&nav-submit-button=

I recently had to purchase Purina Beyond Simply9 at the grocery store because our Chewy order for their regular Canidae had not arrived in time. Wow, they went nuts for it and didn't suffer any digestive issues! I think they only make an adult formula--I got them the lamb. But yes, there are plenty of good foods that don't cost as much as Acana or Orijen (and those are so rich, they tend to make many dogs sick).

·
Registered
3,526 Posts
I use Victor dog food. Its affordable. You should go to dogfoodadvisor.com you can get different ratings for many different foods, then you can choose. I look at it in affordability and availability. You should also keep the pup on the breeders food for about a month then transition in order not to upset their stomach. I always use the 4 week plan 25% new 75% old, week two 50/50 week 3 75/25 week 4 100 percent new.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've heard the Kirkland is good. I am a fan of Purina Pro Plan. They make tons of formulas including for puppies. https://www.chewy.com/s?query=purina pro plan&nav-submit-button=