Poodle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently aquired a rescue poodle who has been neglected so his coat is needing some TLC, I am new to the breed but have been reading up on line, am I right in thinking he should not be bathed till his coat has no mats in it? To look at it is not matted but I cant get a comb through it, I have a metal slicker and that has fluffed up some of his coat but his legs are still quite tight curls, would I be better to shave him short and start from new or will it be possible to save his coat? His coat is clipped short at the moment any way. I will be investing in some clippers soon but until then will human clippers be able to cope with his coat or should I wait? Sorry for all the questions but would like to get him sorted out.

·
Registered
3,307 Posts
two things come to mind right off

1) the comb you are using is to fine, meaning the teeth are to close together, to get through your poodles thick coat. I cannot get the fine portion of my metal comb through my standard's coat, I have to use the medium.
Depending on what kind of comb you have too. If you're trying to use a plastic comb like what my husband uses for his hair thats not likely to do it through do hair. You need metal, with or without handle that is a personal thing. I perfer no handle myself.

2) Using the slicker brush you are not getting down to the skin of your poodle, this can happen even with short hair, and so you're just brushing through the top layer of coat leaving the hair next to the skin matted. I see this a lot and it's no wonder why, it's super easy to do.
Split the hair with your hands down to the skin and see if you can see matts. Sometimes curls hide matts or act like matts when using a comb. I can't comb through either of my girls when they are curly without first taking a pin brush or a slicker through them to pull the curls out, then I can comb.