Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so I'm on the search of a standard poodle puppy that is from a reputable breeder and I was just thinking of this puppy "as a pet"... but I stumbled accross this little guy and he is show quality out of the Unique line of poodles. His grandmother just won Best in Show-Reserve at Crups.

In the back of my mind over the last few years I've been thinking about showing...I am a novice, and know absolutely nothing about it... where would I start?

p

·
Registered
3,145 Posts
Okay, so I'm on the search of a standard poodle puppy that is from a reputable breeder and I was just thinking of this puppy "as a pet"... but I stumbled accross this little guy and he is show quality out of the Unique line of poodles. His grandmother just won Best in Show-Reserve at Crups.

In the back of my mind over the last few years I've been thinking about showing...I am a novice, and know absolutely nothing about it... where would I start?

p
that is awesome if you do go that route. I am new to showing also, wonderpup, spoospirit , and my self all have this book called " show me" I got the old version but they do have a new one

http://www.amazon.com/Show-Me-Dog-Showing-Primer/dp/0764138898/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1241938644&sr=8-1

It is a very good book for beginners !

if you decide to handle your pup your self they have handler classes to teach you what to do in the ring. You would have to ask the local club if they have classes or ask a breeder to help you.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Roxy...

I will pick the book up. This puppy is in PA and I'm in WA, I'm asking the breeder, if it is small enough still, to fit in a carry on kennel. If so, I will fly out to PA and pick it up... I have an email out to the breeder here locally. She is very nice and hopefully, I can get info from her.

·
Registered
1,355 Posts
Thanks Roxy...