Poodle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to this forum, actually I’m new to any forum as this one is the first one I’ve ever joined, so if I’m not posting this question in the right place please let me know.

I have a 17 week old male standard. He weighs approximately 24lbs and is 19” tall. He’s very thin and has a voracious appetite. Right now he’s getting 1 cup of Purina Pro Plan large breed puppy (breeders choice) three times a day. He gulps the food down even tho I feed him in a slow feeder bowl. I’ve read that some people say to feed a puppy as much food he can eat within a certain time frame and that a puppy should never finish his food and still be hungry, others say feed according to the directions on the bag of dog food. His parents are very solid framed dogs weighing about 55lbs.

I’ve had dogs all my life and they have all been very excited about meal time, but none quite as “excited” about it as this guy is.....it’s like he’s never full. And yes, he’s UTD on all worming, shots, and vet check ups. The vet did say he was thin, but not unhealthy thin.

So my questions is, should I be feeding him more? A different brand of food?

·
Registered
3,640 Posts