Poodle Forum banner

Poodle Snow LUMPS

15K views 26 replies 16 participants last post by  caroline429 
#1 ·
Ok....so I am new to poodles and snow. My Casey saw snow for the first time in his life today...about 6 inches of the wet heavy snow. He threw all of his ten pounds into about three laps of zoomies around the back yard...and wanted in.
I looked at his legs and they looked like snowmen.. total lumps of snow on every leg. I took him to the sink and with warm water they were gone in a minute.

BUT....does this happen every time he goes out now? His fur is not that long...but four or five leg baths aday for the next four months doesnt seem right.

Did I do something wrong...should I spray his legs with "Pam" before he goes outside...JUST KIDDING :D

Seriously...what do you all do to prevent this??? Feeling silly in the northland

#3 ·
Socks? Like, cut off the toe and just pull up over the bracelets? ;)

Actually, I think brushing off the snow into the sink might have been better than adding more water.

I'm interested in hearing from people who actually deal with this as my young Standard hasn't seen snow yet ... but it's coming, I'm sure!

#4 ·